Faculty accolades

Maria Teresa Tatto

Maria Tatto, Southwest Borderlands Professor of Comparative Education at ASU’s Mary Lou Fulton Teachers College, has been named an honorary research fellow at the University of Oxford. Tatto has been collaborating with members of Oxford’s department of education since 2014 on a research agenda that has already produced a book, “Learning to Teach in England and the United States: The evolution of policy and practice” (Abingdon, England: Routledge, 2018). Tatto leads the research group, whose work is underwritten by the World Education Research Association.

Leanna Archambault

Leanna Archambault was lead author of "Accountability for Students in K–12 Online Learning: Perspectives from Michigan Stakeholders and Beyond." The paper won first place in the category, Qualitative Journal Article 2018, from the Division of Distance Learning of the Association for Educational Communications and Technology. An associate professor at Mary Lou Fulton Teachers College, Archambault is lead researcher and liaison for the Sustainability Science Education Project at the Center for Sustainable Health.

Michelene Chi

A paper by Michelene Chi, Dorothy Bray Professor of Science and Teaching at ASU’s Mary Lou Fulton Teachers College, was named Best Paper of 2017 by the Journal of the Learning Sciences. “Why Students Learn More from Dialogue- than Monologue-Videos: Analyses of Peer Interactions” was co-written by ASU postdoctoral fellow Seokmin Kang and David Yaghmourian, research analyst assistant in Chi’s Learning and Cognition Lab in ASU’s Institute for the Science of Teaching and Learning.

Eugene Judson

Associate Professor Eugene Judson and Education Data Assistant Lydia Ross were the first two authors of “The Effects of Professional Development and Coaching on Teaching Practices.” The paper, presented in June at the 2018 Annual Conference and Exposition of the American Society of Engineering Education in Salt Lake City, was runner-up for the Best Paper award in the first-year programs division. Judson and Ross’s co-authors represented ASU’s Ira A. Fulton Schools of Engineering and the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences.