Faculty accolades, November 2019


Erik Ketcherside

MLFTC assistant professors Andrea Weinberg and Mildred Boveda

Two Mary Lou Fulton Teachers College assistant professors were nominated for the 2019 ASU Catalyst Award, which honors individuals, groups and programs that have catalyzed change by fostering and promoting diversity and inclusion. The Catalyst Award is given annually by the Committee for Campus Inclusion, which advises the ASU Provost. Honorees are selected based on excellence in inclusion, innovation, initiative and impact on their community.

Mildred Boveda teaches special education and cultural and linguistic diversity. Andrea Weinberg also teaches special education, as well as sustainability science for elementary teachers. Boveda and Weinberg were recognized for creating the Intersectionally Conscious Collaboration protocol, a framework for establishing student-focused relationships among teachers based on the interaction of those teachers’ biases, sociocultural understandings, and awareness of others and their differences. The ICC allows this interaction to become the basis for engaging diverse colleagues, students and families to improve the experiences of all learners. While the ICC is aligned with their research areas, Weinberg and Boveda created it outside their professional responsibilities to promote equity, diversity and inclusion. 

Graduate students

Faculty members of MLFTC’s doctoral programs awarded the 2019 Educational Leadership Scholarship to Areej Mawasi. The scholarship recognizes a doctoral level student-leader who assumes leadership responsibilities in their scholarly communities in MLFTC, on the ASU campus, and within the education profession and its organizations. Mawasi is a third-year student in the Learning, Literacies and Technologies PhD program, and a research assistant in the Center for Science and the Imagination. Her research focuses on the intersection between learning sciences and educational technology.

Sarah Salinas and Emeka Ikegwuonu are MLFTC’s nominees for the David L. Clark National Graduate Student Research Seminar in Educational Administration and Policy. Salinas and Ikegwuonu, both fourth-year students in the Educational Policy and Evaluation PhD program, were selected by the EPE program committee based on research proposals they submitted. Ikegwuonu examines the influence of state appropriation on pricing at universities; particularly in institutions’ creation of mandatory fees to close the gap between expense and revenue. Salinas, in two strands of research, investigates and challenges assumptions in U.S. special education policy, and focuses on teacher planning and instructional pedagogy to support English language learners with disabilities in inclusive classrooms. The Clark seminar will be held in April at the beginning of the annual meeting of the American Educational Research Association in San Francisco. The seminar brings emerging educational administration and policy scholars and noted researchers together for two days of presentations, generative discussion and professional growth.