Faculty accolades, June 2019

Alfredo Artiles honored with inaugural Spencer Mentor Award

Alfredo Artiles, dean of ASU’s Graduate College and Ryan C. Harris Memorial Endowed Professor of Special Education, was one of three to receive the inaugural Spencer Mentor Award on April 17.

The award honors mentors who have enriched the lives, research and careers of their students and colleagues, and enhanced the field of education research. It comes with a $25,000 grant from the Spencer Foundation to be used to further support mentoring work in the field of education research. “The goal of the award is to emphasize that mentorship is not something extra that good folks do, but that it is a cornerstone of our field,” Spencer President Na’ilah Suad Nasir said at the 2019 AERA Annual Meeting, at which she presented the awards.

Artiles’ scholarship focuses on understanding and addressing educational inequities related to the intersections of disability with other sociocultural differences, especially with respect to students of color. Artiles has mentored numerous scholars, including scholars of color and scholars with disabilities. He is known to offer personalized mentorship, understanding each mentee’s intersecting identities.

Amanda Tachine presented with The Dr. Henrietta Mann Leadership Award

Amanda Tachine, postdoctoral scholar at Mary Lou Fulton Teachers College, was honored with The Dr. Henrietta Mann Leadership Award on June 7. In August, Tachine will begin her role as assistant professor of Educational Leadership and Innovation at Mary Lou Fulton Teachers College.

The award is presented to Native (American Indian, Alaska Native, Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander) individuals who have demonstrated outstanding leadership and commitment to Native students, advancing Indigenous communities and fostering the development of future leaders.

Tachine, who is from Ganado, Arizona, is Navajo. She’s Náneesht´ézhí Táchii´nii (Zuni Red Running into Water) clan born for Tl´izilani (Many Goats) clan. As a postdoctoral scholar in the Center for Indian Education at MLFTC, Tachine advanced ideas and strategies to increase Native college student success.

Her research interests include: college access and persistence for Native Americans, use of Indigenous qualitative methodologies and societal conditions influencing college student success. She has led efforts in a two-tiered mentoring program, Native SOAR (Student Outreach, Access and Resiliency) where Native graduate students mentor Native undergraduate students who, in turn, provide college knowledge mentorship to Native high school students.

Another outstanding paper award for Buss, Foulger, Wetzel and Lindsey

The research team of associate professors Ray Buss and Teresa Foulger, Professor Emeritus Keith Wetzel, and LeeAnn Lindsey of edvolve has been honored with the 2018 Outstanding Research Paper Award from the International Society for Technology in Education. The award recognizes scholars for research with the potential to advance teacher education.

Their article, “Preparing Teachers to Integrate Technology into K–12 Instruction II: Examining the effects of technology-infused methods courses and student teaching,” was published in the June 2018 Journal of Digital Learning in Teacher Education. It is the seventh in a series of studies used to advance technology infusion in Mary Lou Fulton Teachers College programs. This effort was initiated in 2012 to support teacher candidates through a comprehensive approach to integrating technology in pre-K–12 teaching.

This technology infusion research team is a multiple award-winner. The authors won the same award in 2014 for “Infusing Educational Technology in Teaching Methods Courses: Successes and dilemmas.” Their research has also been recognized with the “Best Practice Award for the Innovative Use of Technology” (American Association of Colleges for Teacher Education, 2017), “Agent of Change in Teaching and Learning Special Interest Group Best Paper Award (American Educational Research Association, 2014) and the 2012 ISTE Education Conference Paper Award.