Teacher tech three-peat: Scott wins AzTEA Innovation Award


Erik Ketcherside

Lynda Scott receives her 2016 Innovation Award for Teacher of the Year (Preservice Faculty) from Cathy Poplin (right), executive director of the Arizona Technology in Education Association; and Stacey Pasquel (left), Mary Lou Fulton Teachers College technology infusion specialist and AzTEA executive board member.

The Arizona Technology in Education Association named Lynda Scott the winner of its 2016 Innovation Award for Teacher (Preservice Faculty) of the Year. Scott is a clinical assistant professor at Mary Lou Fulton Teachers College.

The annual award recognizes one higher education faculty member in Arizona who prepares teacher candidates to effectively integrate technology into their future classroom practices, and to become school leaders and advocate for educational technology.

Since the teacher preparation category of AzTEA’s Innovation Awards was established in 2014, all three awards have gone to faculty members of Mary Lou Fulton Teachers College. Clinical Instructor Christopher Smudde won the inaugural award, and Clinical Assistant Professor Ashleigh King was the 2015 honoree. King and Scott are also site coordinators for the college’s highly regarded  iTeachAZ teacher preparation program.

Scott said that while she is proud of the award, it recognizes the program as much as the person. “This award was definitely the product of collaboration and innovation,” she said. “I had the privilege of working with the Technology Infusion Team at ASU and with other faculty members to transform my own teaching and become more knowledgeable about technology infusion. I was then able to model the use of technology in coursework to train my teacher candidates and mentors to use technology in their K – 8 classrooms.”

Infusing technology training into teacher preparation is vital, Scott said. “Our students are growing up with technologies that allow them access to all types of experiences, information and people. As teachers, it is our responsibility to prepare students for the jobs of the future.”

Scott becomes the AzTEA nominee for the Outstanding Teacher Award from the International Society for Technology in Education, to be announced in June at ISTE’s worldwide conference in San Antonio.