Former dean, professor Garcia honored as AERA fellow


Jennifer Priest Mitchell

Eugene Garcia, professor emeritus, research professor and dean of ASU's College of Education from 2002 to 2006, is the latest faculty member of ASU's Mary Lou Fulton Teachers College to be named a fellow by the American Educational Research Association.

"It is a great honor to be recognized by my education research colleagues in AERA," said Garcia. "That recognition must be shared by my students/collaborators for the research we have contributed to the field."

Renowned for research in the areas of effective schooling for linguistically and culturally diverse student populations, Garcia has published extensively on language teaching and on bilingual development. He is the author or co-author of more than 200 articles and book chapters, and 14 books and monographs. He holds leadership positions in professional organizations, and serves regularly as a proposal panel reviewer for federal, state and foundation agencies. Garcia also serves as an editor for psychological, linguistic and educational journals.

"Dr. Gene Garcia is one of the top scholars in the country, in the world," said Mari Koerner, dean of Mary Lou Fulton Teachers College. "He has spent his lifetime creating knowledge to make all children's lives better. And he continues to have an impact on the field. For Gene, social justice is a way of life, not something you hope for but can really achieve."

Founded in 1916, AERA is the largest national interdisciplinary research association devoted to the scientific study of education and learning. AERA advances knowledge about education, encourages scholarly inquiry, and promotes the use of research to improve education and serve the public good.

The AERA fellows program honors education researchers with substantial research accomplishments. Fellows are nominated by their peers, selected and recommended by the fellows committee and approved by the AERA Council, an elected governing group of AERA.

Garcia joins 19 other ASU scholars previously selected as AERA fellows.