Alumni principals recognized for excellence by Rodel Foundation

The Rodel Foundation of Arizona recognized eight outstanding Arizona school leaders with its 2016 Exemplary Principal Award. Among the honorees were four Mary Lou Fulton Teachers College alumni:

  • Shannon Bonnette (BAE '91), Richard E. Miller School, Washington Elementary District
  • Karie Burns (BAE '01 ), Surprise Elementary School, Dysart Unified District
  • Bennett MacKinney (MEd '06; EdD '15), Echo Mountain Intermediate School, Paradise Valley Unified District
  • Kate McDonald (MEd '93), South Mountain High School, Phoenix Union High School District

Three other Mary Lou Fulton Teachers College alumni were finalists for the award:

  • Kathryn Mullery (BAE '79), Connolly Middle School, Tempe Elementary District
  • Melissa Rivers (MEd '06; PhD '11), South Ridge High School, The Leona Group, LLC
  • Michele Wilson (BAE '86; EdD '11), Westview High School, Tolleson Union High School District

Principals were chosen for their ability to inspire their staffs to contribute to school-wide success and the development of campuses that are high achieving, safe and welcoming. Each winner receives an honorarium from the foundation along with recognition for making measurable differences in the lives of students, staff and the local community. They will also take advantage of opportunities to share their expertise and experience with the next generation of school leaders.

Rodel, in partnership with Social Venture Partners Arizona, developed the Rodel Exemplary Principal Initiative to recognize outstanding school principals and create a pipeline of highly skilled school leaders for Arizona’s most challenged schools. Each cohort of Rodel Exemplary Principals provides professional development, field experience and mentorship to a class of Rodel Aspiring Principals, preparing them to lead their own high-need schools. More information about the initiative and the 2016 honorees is available from the Rodel Foundation.