Top: David Berliner, Gene Glass
Bottom: Sherman Dorn, David Garcia

Teachers College faculty recognized for public influence in education

January 07, 2015

Four faculty members from Arizona State University’s Mary Lou Fulton Teachers College are named in this year’s “Rick Hess Straight Up” (RHSU) Edu-Scholar Public Influence Rankings. The 2015 rankings, released Jan. 7 in Education Week, honor 200 university-based education scholars for their extensive contributions to public debates about education. 

Researchers explore future of 'postdigital' textbook

November 20, 2014

An interdisciplinary team at Arizona State University has been awarded a grant from the National Science Foundation’s Cyberlearning and Future Learning Technologies program to conduct research on the future of the textbook.

Outstanding Doctoral Mentors named for 2014-2015

September 29, 2014

Graduate Education at Arizona State University has named three professors as Outstanding Doctoral Mentors of 2014-2015: Alfredo Artiles, associate dean of academic affairs in Mary Lou Fulton Teachers College; Sethuraman "Panch" Panchanathan, professor in the School of Computing Informatics and Decision Systems Engineering and senior vice president in the Office of Knowledge Enterprise Development (OKED); and Pamela Swan, associate professor in the School of Nutrition and Health Promotion.


Teachers College faculty recognized for excellence

September 19, 2014

Faculty members at Arizona State University’s Mary Lou Fulton Teachers College show their deep commitment to the field of education through exemplary scholarship, research and teaching.

Chris Smudde

ASU educator honored for innovative teaching methods

September 12, 2014

Christopher Smudde is pushing the envelope when it comes to using technology in the classroom, and it’s not going unnoticed. The clinical instructor in Mary Lou Fulton Teachers College was recognized for his efforts with the 2014 Teacher of the Year for Initial Teacher Preparation award from the Arizona Technology in Education Association (AzTEA).


Giving engineering teachers measure for success in classroom

July 14, 2014

An in-depth report on extensive studies to determine the most effective methods for classroom teaching of engineering won the award for best paper published last year in the Journal of Engineering Education for Arizona State University professors Stephen Krause and Michelene Chi, as well as two co-authors from other universities.

Michelene Chi

LSI Director Michelene T.H. Chi, Research Team, 2014 Wickenden Award Recipients

June 16, 2014

The Learning Sciences Institute is pleased to announce that Dr. Michelene T.H. Chi and her research team - including fellow Arizona State University Professor Dr. Stephen Krause, Dr. Muhsin Menekse of the University of Pittsburgh, and Dr. Glenda S.

Frank Serafini

Serafini receives 2014 IRA Arbuthnot Award

June 02, 2014

Frank Serafini, associate professor of literacy education at Mary Lou Fulton Teachers College, received the 2014 International Reading Association Arbuthnot Award.

Christine Wilkinson receives award

Wilkinson is Business Woman of the Year

May 22, 2014

Christine K. Wilkinson was named Business Woman of the Year by the Tempe Chamber of Commerce at the 19th Annual Women in Business Conference on May 21 in Tempe.


University innovators lauded for disaster relief, virtual learning tools

April 10, 2014

The President's Award for Innovation provides formal recognition to ASU teams making significant contributions to ASU and higher education through the creation, development and implementation of innovative projects, programs, initiatives, services and techniques.

Pamela Hodges Kulinna

Kulinna named 2014 Outstanding Scholar by AERA

April 04, 2014

Pamela Hodges Kulinna received the 2014 Outstanding Scholar Award from the American Educational Research Association. The award is from AERA’s Research on Learning and Instruction in Physical Education Special Interest Group.


Teachers College 2013 scholarship, leadership and impact awards

September 06, 2013

In September 2013, six faculty members of Mary Lou Fulton Teachers College were honored with scholarship, leadership and impact awards from the college. Dean Mari Koerner presented the awards at an all-college meeting held on Arizona State University’s West campus.

Michelene Chi

Michelene Chi

Chi named fellow of century-old education research society

March 16, 2013

Professor Michelene Chi of Arizona State University has been named one of 23 scholars selected as 2013 American Educational Research Association (AERA) fellows, according to the 97-year-old research society based in Washington, D.C. Chi recently was named director of ASU’s Learning Sciences Institute effective July 1.

Dale Baker

Dale Baker

Dale Baker receives prestigious award

January 28, 2013

ASU's Dale Baker has been named recipient of the most prestigious award in the field of science education from the National Association for Research in Science Teaching. A professor in the Mary Lou Fulton Teachers College, Baker has contributed more than 30 years of research examining equity issues in science, science teacher professional development and engineering education.

Alexander Kurz receives Teacher Incentive Fund grant

October 01, 2012

​On September 27, 2012, the US Department of Education unveiled its fourth round of Teacher Incentive Fund (TIF) awards; a grant program that supports differentiated compensation systems for teachers.

Award-winning faculty

September 06, 2012

​ASU president Michael Crow presented the 2012 leadership awards to faculty at the Mary Lou Fulton Teachers College September faculty meeting, held at ASU West campus.