Registration $85 ($100 after 12/31/13)
ASU Student $50 ($60 after 12/31/13)

Register Now

call for roundtable proposals

We invite proposals that contribute to a conversation about teaching and learning where literacies in various contexts are considered and celebrated.

Submit Proposal

contact us

For information about the conference:
Frank Serafini
Conference Coordinator

directions, parking and accommodations

The 2014 conference takes place at Old Main on the Tempe campus of Arizona State University.

The ASU visitor parking closest to Old Main is the Fulton Center Structure (enter from either University Drive or College Avenue). Please refer to the ASU Tempe Visitors Parking Web page for parking information. Carpooling is encouraged.

Join us for the 44th annual Language and Literacy Conference sponsored by Mary Lou Fulton Teachers College literacy faculty and Zaharis Elementary School. Conference highlights include:

  • Explore strategies for meaningful literacy instruction
  • Enjoy two keynote speakers, roundtable discussions and lunch
  • Earn five (5) professional development hours

featured speakers

Steven Layne, award-winning author of “Igniting a Passion for Reading” and a best-selling novel for young adults, “This Side of Paradise”
Tom Lichtenheld, writer and illustrator of best-selling children’s books, including “Goodnight, Goodnight, Construction Site” and “Steam Train Dream Train”

awards nominations

Silvaroli Language and Literacy Award

This award recognizes exceptional literacy teachers of grades pre-K through 12 who demonstrate excellence in teaching reading and writing, and inspiring a spirit of inquiry and love of learning in their students.

Submit nomination

Edelsky Literacy for Social Justice Award

This award recognizes exceptional literacy teachers who demonstrate a commitment to social justice issues in their teaching. The award is open to anyone in education whose teaching practices reflect a passion to make others aware of social inequities and work for change.

Submit nomination

Awards will be presented following the first keynote address.



conference schedule

7:30 a.m. Registration and coffee
8:15 a.m. Welcome and conference introduction
8:45  a.m. Keynote address
Steven Layne
10:30 a.m. Roundtable discussions
11:40 a.m. Lunch
12:30 p.m. Roundtable discussions
1:30 p.m. Awards presentation
2:00 p.m. Keynote address
Tom Lichtenheld
3:30 p.m. Author book signing